0

    Your Cart is Empty

    Guidelines for the protection of children and young people

    BOOKS FOR CHANGE has binding regulations. These guidelines for the protection of children and young people are an integral part of every personnel and project contract. By signing the contract, it is confirmed that the guidelines have been taken note of and are considered binding. Compliance with the guidelines is regularly checked during project visits.

    introduction

    In Switzerland, BOOKS FOR CHANGE is registered as a charitable association under Swiss law (ZGB, Article 60ff).

    BOOKS FOR CHANGE was founded in 2016 with the belief that every child deserves a quality education. Our model focuses on change within schools in low-income communities during two time periods that are most critical to a child's schooling: early elementary school for literacy acquisition and secondary school for girls' education.

    We envision a world where all children receive a quality education. This enables them to reach their full potential and make their own contribution to their community and to the world at large.

    With these child protection guidelines, we are raising awareness of the importance of proactive child and youth protection and setting standards that are intended to prevent any abuse of children and youth.

    basis

    The guidelines are based on the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child (adopted by the UN General Assembly in 1989) and the two optional protocols that prohibit child trafficking, child pornography and child prostitution, as well as the participation of children in armed conflicts.

    definition

    Abuse within the meaning of these guidelines occurs when children or young people under the age of 18 are physically or otherwise harmed. The term abuse includes both physical and emotional abuse, instances of neglect and sexual assault.

    Individual rules of conduct

    In terms of effective prevention and self-protection, BOOKS FOR CHANGE and its partner organizations are committed to

    • To always treat children and young people with respect and to refrain from any form of discrimination.
    • Not to hit, physically harm or abuse children and young people.
    • Not to belittle, humiliate, shame, degrade or otherwise emotionally abuse children and young people.
    • Refrain from sexual acts or behavior, including sexually suggestive language and gestures, towards children and young people.
    • Refrain from relationships with children and young people that are in any way exploitative or abusive.
    • It is essential to ensure that the privacy of children and young people is protected, especially in areas such as changing rooms, showers or toilets. Furthermore, help with personal hygiene or with dressing and undressing is to be avoided if the person to be cared for is able to do this independently.
    • To ensure that employees and agents respect the dignity of children and young people when making films or photographs. If they refuse to be photographed or filmed, this must be respected.
    • Not to bring children and young people into contact with alcohol or other mind-altering substances (drugs).
    • Immediately report any reasonable suspicion of misuse to the supervisor.

    scope

    The guidelines for the protection of children and young people are an integral part of every personnel and project contract with BOOKS FOR CHANGE. By signing the contract, it is confirmed that the guidelines have been taken note of and are considered binding.

    The abuse of children and young people is a serious misconduct. If this is committed by an employee of BOOKS FOR CHANGE, this will lead to the termination of the employment relationship and, if necessary, to the initiation of further legal action.

    During project visits, BOOKS FOR CHANGE checks whether its partner organizations are implementing the child and youth protection measures in accordance with the BOOKS FOR CHANGE code of conduct and whether they are adhering to the established child and youth protection rules.

    BOOKS FOR CHANGE reserves the right to suspend payments due to its partner organizations that violate the guidelines and to end the cooperation.

    Lucerne, 2022

Richtlinien zum Kinder- und Jugendschutz

Einleitung

In der Schweiz ist BOOKS FOR CHANGE als wohltätiger Verein unter schweizerischem Recht (ZGB, Artikel 60ff) registriert.

BOOKS FOR CHANGE wurde im Jahr 2016 mit der Überzeugung gegründet, dass jedes Kind eine qualitativ gute Schulbildung verdient. Unser Modell konzentriert sich auf einen Wandel innerhalb der Schulen in einkommensschwachen Gemeinden während zweier Zeitabschnitte, die für die Schulbildung eines Kindes am Wichtigsten sind: die frühe Grundschule für den Erwerb von Lese- und Schreibfähigkeiten und die weiterführende Schule für die Bildung von Mädchen.

Wir stellen uns eine Welt vor, in der alle Kinder eine qualitativ hochwertige Bildung erhalten. Diese ermöglicht es ihnen, ihr volles Potenzial auszuschöpfen und ihren eigenen Beitrag an ihre Gemeinschaft und an die ganze Welt zu leisten.

Mit den vorliegenden Kinderschutz-Richtlinien stärken wir das Bewusstsein für die Bedeutung eines proaktiven Kinder- und Jugendschutzes und setzen Standards, die jeglichen Missbrauch von Kindern und Jugendlichen verhindern sollen.

 

Grundlage

Grundlage der Richtlinien bilden die Kinderrechtskonvention der Vereinten Nationen (1989 von der Generalversammlung der UN verabschiedet) sowie die beiden Fakultativprotokolle, die den Kinderhandel, Kinderpornografie und Kinderprostitution sowie die Beteiligung von Kindern an bewaffneten Konflikten verbieten.

 

Definition

Ein Missbrauch im Sinne dieser Richtlinien liegt vor, wenn Kinder oder Jugendliche unter 18 Jahren körperlich oder auf andere Art verletzt werden. Der Begriff Missbrauch umfasst sowohl körperliche Misshandlungen als auch emotionalen Missbrauch, Fälle von Vernachlässigung sowie sexuelle Übergriffe.

 

Individuelle Verhaltensregeln

Im Sinne einer wirksamen Prävention und des Selbstschutzes verpflichten sich BOOKS FOR CHANGE und ihre Partnerorganisationen,

  • Kinder und Jugendliche stets mit Respekt zu behandeln und jede Form von Diskriminierung zu unterlassen.
  • Kinder und Jugendliche nicht zu schlagen, körperlich zu schädigen oder zu misshandeln.
  • Kinder und Jugendliche nicht herabzusetzten, zu demütigen, zu beschämen, zu erniedrigen oder anderweitig emotional zu misshandeln.
  • Sexuelle Handlungen oder Verhaltensweisen, einschliesslich sexuell anzüglichen Sprachgebrauchs und Gestik, gegenüber Kindern und Jugendlichen zu unterlassen.
  • Beziehungen zu Kindern und Jugendlichen zu unterlassen, die in irgendeiner Form ausbeuterischen oder missbräuchlichen Charakter haben.
  • Unbedingt auf den Schutz der Privatsphäre der Kinder und Jugendlichen zu achten, insbesondere in Bereichen wie Umkleiden, Duschen oder Toiletten. Im Weiteren ist die Hilfe bei der Körperpflege oder beim An- und Ausziehen zu unterlassen, wenn die zu Betreuenden selbständig dazu in der Lage sind.
  • Sicherzustellen, dass Mitarbeiter und Mitarbeiterinnen sowie Beauftrage beim Erstellen von Filmen oder Fotografien die Würde der Kinder und Jugendlichen wahren. Wenn diejenigen Foto- oder Filmaufnahmen ablehnen, ist dies zu respektieren.
  • Kinder und Jugendliche nicht in Kontakt mit Alkohol oder anderen bewusstseinsverändernden Stoffen (Drogen) zu bringen.
  • Jeden begründeten Verdacht auf einen Missbrauch unverzüglich der vorgesetzten Person zu melden.

 

Geltungsbereich

Die Richtlinien zum Kinder- und Jugendschutz sind integraler Bestandteil jedes Personal- und Projektvertrags mit BOOKS FOR CHANGE. Mit der Unterzeichnung des Vertrags wird bestätigt, dass die Richtlinien zur Kenntnis genommen wurden und als verbindlich gelten.

Der Missbrauch von Kindern und Jugendlichen ist eine schwere Verfehlung. Wird diese von einem Mitarbeiter oder einer Mitarbeiterin von BOOKS FOR CHANGE begangen, führt dies zur Beendigung des Arbeitsverhältnisses und gegebenenfalls zur Einleitung weiterer rechtlichen Schritte.

BOOKS FOR CHANGE überprüft bei Projektbesuchen, ob ihre Partnerorganisationen die Kinder- und Jugendschutzmassnahmen gemäss dem Verhaltenskodex von BOOKS FOR CHANGE umsetzen und sich an die festgesetzten Kinder- und Jugendschutzregeln halten.

BOOKS FOR CHANGE behält sich vor, fällige Zahlungen an ihre Partnerorganisationen, die den Richtlinien zuwiderhandeln, auszusetzen und die Zusammenarbeit zu beenden.

 

Luzern, 2020